top of page

Saying Goodbye to my Home

Saying goodbye is never an easy thing to do and after spending a year in the Presbyterian community of Colombia it was almost impossible. Words cannot describe how at home and welcome I felt in Colombia. I have been surrounded by such genuine and loving people who have supported me in all that I have been doing this year.

Many people have asked what a YAV year was like in Colombia and all I can say is, it was amazing. The beginning of my year was filled with tears, struggling to learn a new language and adjusting to the new culture I was living in but from these experiences I was able to grow. The Young Adult Volunteer program is so wonderful because it gives people the chance to live and learn from other communities. When people asked me why I was in Colombia I explained I was there as a volunteer through a program of the Presbyterian Church. I also clarified that we are not “missionaries, here to help people and better their lives,” we are here to accompany, learn from and live alongside our new communities. That gift is something that I will always appreciate because in this fast-paced world where everyone is labeled as rich or poor, smart or dumb, good or bad, etc. it is invaluable to have a moment to step back and gain perspective.

I hope to leave this year with a renewed appreciation for life and the ability to give love as it has been so generously given to me.

Much Love,

Hannah McKerley

Ps. I have been painting murals by myself and with the ninth-grade students at the colegio. I also have been painting basically anywhere I can in Urabá, so here are some of my pieces!

 

Coconut Bolis:

These are basically popsicles in sandwich bags and they are amazing!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (13.5 oz) coconut milk

  • 1 can (13.5 oz) condensed milk

  • ½ cup milk

  • ¼ cup heavy cream

  • ¾ cup unsweetened coconut

  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

  • Plastic sandwich bags without seal

Instructions:

  1. Blend ingredients until smooth.

  2. Poor mixture into a sandwich bag, tie the bag shut and freeze

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page